Skip to content

 I believe that Carl Jung, better than anyone else, explains human behavior, development, and the wholeness of wrestling with the conscious and the unconscious, which I came to through the doorway of my journey with Isabel Myers, her family, and the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator.                                                                                                                                                             -Conversations with Katharine Myers

The Type journey is one of Introduction to Integration. The 5 Levels of Psychological Type are the principles that frame my training and coaching practice to enhance psychological growth and development at all levels of an organization.

When Jungian principles are rooted within our practice of Type, we advance the learning, effectiveness, and stick-toitiveness of understanding, bringing Type alive as the system of energy it was meant to be.

This means that participants are not ‘stuck in a box’ and learn that they have choices on how to think and behave in every moment; we can all access and engage those parts of ourselves that lie in our unconscious, it just takes a bit more energy.

The Origins of the 5 Levels 

One of the great blessings of my career was working and co-authoring articles with the late Katharine Myers, Isabel Myers’ daughter-in-law and Director Emeritus of the Myers and Briggs Foundation. Katharine believed that the majority of people who learned about Type would stop their journey with knowing the 4-letter Type Code but could if they wanted, work their way up to understanding the Jungian Psyche and what Jung called ‘individuation’—or the journey to wholeness. She believed the 4-letter Type Code to be a doorway into Jungian psychology and individuation. Katharine and I wrote about these ideas, which briefly appeared on her website,, but were removed after her passing.

The 5 Levels of Psychological Type are my extension of Katharine Myers’ ideas. Based on over two decades of facilitating and coaching teams and leaders from the foundation of Psychological Type, I have found the MBTI Assessment and the 4-Letter Type Code to be most effective when facilitated within the container of Jung’s psychological theory.

Jung’s Psyche and the 5 Levels

Jung defined the Psyche as the totality of who we are, both conscious and unconscious – those non-physical aspects of ourseleves. Type fits into the model of the Jungian Psyche, and is the cornerstone to understanding Type as dynamic system – a system that operates as a psychological exchange between our conscious and unconscious worlds. The functions that we prefer give us energy; those that are unconscious drain us especially when we try to access them, or bring them into our consciousness.

The interplay between our conscious and unconscious functions is integral to teaching and learning about Psychological Type, and a key piece for mapping individual, leader and team growth and development.

Level 1 – Validating Your Best-Fit Type 

About Finding Your Type -The first level of understanding your Psychological Type is taking an assessment, such as the MBTI, and working with a Certified Type Practitioner in a workshop or a coaching session. Their role is crucial in validating or selecting your Best-Fit, 4-letter Type Code. A Certified Type Practitioner can help interpret results based on their training and years of experience and help you understand the meaning behind your particular Type.

The 4-Letter Type Code and the Jungian Psyche – The 4-Letter Type code represents those mental functions or processes that reside in our consciousness. The opposite preferences are more unconscious. So, for example, if we select ENFJ as our Type, then the Functions of N and F reside in consciousness, S and T are more unconscious, and I and P are less conscious Attitudes. Our 4-Letter Type, in Jungian terms, defines our persona and our ego.

Practial Applications

Level 2 – Understanding Your Dominant and Auxiliary Functions

Level 3 – Grasping the Type Hierarchy of Functions for Your Type

Level 4 – Growing in Your Type through Type Development

Level 5 – Using Type as a Guide for Jungian Individuation

Back To Top